List of IPL Emerging Player Award Winners

List of IPL Emerging Player Award Winners

Each year, the “IPL Emerging Player Award” is handed to the young cricketer who has shown the most promise throughout the season. Over the past 16 years, the Indian Premier League has become a breeding ground for young talent, providing Indian cricket and other international teams with a wealth of young stars. Players such as Yashaswi Jaiswal, Shreyas Iyer, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant, and Axar Patel have consistently performed at a high level in the Indian Premier League.

Emerging player award winners usually top the IPL betting charts the following year. The award is given to a player who has consistently performed throughout the season and has the potential to become an international cricket star. These players also tend to attract interest from bettors on an online cricket betting site.

To be eligible for the Emerging Player Award, a player must meet four criteria:

1. They must have been born on or after April 1, 1997.
2. They must have played five or fewer Test matches or less than 20 ODIs.
3. They must have played only 25 or fewer IPL matches.
4. They should not have won the Emerging Player Award before.
5. The winner is decided by a combination of a public vote on the official IPL website and the choice of television commentators.

The top contenders for the Emerging Player Award for the 2023 IPL season include three batsmen and three bowlers. The batsmen are Yashaswi Jaiswal from Rajasthan Royals, Rinku Singh from Kolkata Knight Riders, and Prabhsimran Singh from Punjab Kings. The bowlers are Matheesha Pathirana from Chennai Super Kings, Noor Ahmed from the Gujarat Titans, and Mayank Markande from Sunrisers Hyderabad.

The “Emerging Player Award” has gone through several name changes since it was introduced in 2008. It was initially called the “Best Under-19 Player” award in 2008, the “Best Under-23 Player” award in 2009, and the “Under-23 Success of the Tournament” in 2010. In 2011 and 2012, it was called the “Rising Star of the Year”, and in 2013, it was named the “Best Young Player of the Season”. Since 2014, it has been known as the “Emerging Player of the Year”.

Teams such as the Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Daredevils, and Punjab Kings have all had players win the Emerging Player Award twice. Teams like the Chennai Super Kings, Gujarat Lions, Mumbai Indians, and Deccan Chargers have each had a player win the award once.

So far, only one foreign player has won the Emerging Player Award – Bangladesh bowler Mustafizur Rahman, who won while playing for the Sunrisers Hyderabad team in the 2016 season.

One thought on “List of IPL Emerging Player Award Winners


Comments are closed.