Heart-wrenching Defeat in Cricket World Cup 2023 Final Leaves Rohit Sharma and Mohammed Siraj in Tears – Must-See Footage

Heart-wrenching Defeat in Cricket World Cup 2023 Final Leaves Rohit Sharma and Mohammed Siraj in Tears – Must-See Footage

Australia Clinch Sixth ICC Cricket World Cup Title with Victory Over India

In a thrilling final match at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium, Australia emerged victorious over India by seven wickets to claim their sixth ICC Cricket World Cup title. With this win, Australia has now officially won a title in each of the last five decades – 1980s, 1990s, 2000s, 2010s, and 2020s. On the other hand, India’s wait for a major ICC Trophy continues as they lost in the final after overcoming the semifinal hurdle.

Chasing a target of 241, India got off to a shaky start as Jasprit Bumrah was hit for 15 runs in the very first over. The Men in Blue also missed a catch on the first ball of the innings. However, captain Virat Kohli made up for the missed opportunity when Mohammed Shami dismissed David Warner for just seven runs. After 1.1 overs, India was 16/1.

Mitchell Marsh came in next but was soon removed by Bumrah after scoring 15 runs. Australia was 41/2 in 4.3 overs. Steve Smith, Australia’s premier batter, fell for just four runs, and Australia found themselves at 47/3 after seven overs.

At the end of the first ten overs, Australia reached 60/3. They reached the 100-run mark in 19.1 overs and continued their march towards victory. Travis Head played a scintillating innings, reaching his half-century in 58 balls with six fours and a six. Marnus Labuschagne also provided support from the other end.

Australia reached the 150-run mark in 27.1 overs, and Head brought up his century in 95 balls with 14 fours and three sixes. India had no answers to Australia’s brilliance as the five-time champions reached the 200-run mark in 36.3 overs. Labuschagne also reached his fifty in 99 balls with three fours.

Head’s innings came to an end when he was caught by Gill for 137 off 120 balls, with 15 fours and four sixes. Australia was 239/4 in 42.5 overs when Head departed. They eventually clinched the World Cup title with seven overs and six wickets in hand, with Glenn Maxwell hitting the winning runs.

For India, Bumrah took two wickets, Shami took one, and Siraj also took one wicket. Earlier, in their innings, India managed to score 240 runs, with KL Rahul top-scoring with 66 runs and Kohli contributing 54 runs. Australia’s bowlers, including Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, and Pat Cummins, played a crucial role in bundling out India.

Australia’s victory in the final was a testament to their exceptional performance throughout the tournament, and they can now proudly call themselves the champions of the ICC Cricket World Cup once again.